## Report on the 63<sup>rd</sup> IIPF Congress, University of Warwick, UK

The 63<sup>rd</sup> IIPF Congress was held at the University of Warwick, UK, between August 27-30, 2007, and was attended by. 323 scholars from a wide variety of countries.

The theme of the plenary sessions was Global Public Goods and Commons: Theoretical Challenges for a Changing World. Plenary speakers were Professor Agnar Sandmo (A Broad View of Global Public Goods), Hans-Werner Sinn (Public Policies against Global Warming), Scott Barrett (Why Cooperate? The Incentive to Supply Global Public Goods), Pierre Pestieau (European Welfare States: Performances and Prospects) and Kai Konrad (Mobile Tax Base as a Global Common). There was also a special plenary session in memory of Richard Musgrave, who passed away earlier in 2007. Speakers in this session were Anthony Atkinson, Sijbren Cnossen, Helen Ladd, Peter Mieszkowski, Pierre Pestieau and Hans-Werner Sinn.

The main body of the Congress consisted of 230 contributed papers, accompanied by a similar number of formal discussions, covering together virtually all topics within public economics, but with public goods as a major area. To accommodate the large number of papers delivered, ten to twelve concurrent sessions were held during each available time slot. As usual, a selection of contributed papers and plenary addresses will appear in a special issue of *International Tax and Public Finance* in 2008.

The Peggy and Richard Musgrave Prize for the best paper contributed by authors(s) under age 40 went to Ruud de Mooij of Erasmus University Rotterdam and Gaetan Nicodème of the European Commission, for their paper *Corporate Tax Policy and Incorporation in the EU*. Richard Cornes, Alfons Weichenrieder and John Wilson served as the award committee, assisted by other members of the Scientific Committee.

The main social event of the congress was a visit to Stratford-upon-Avon, the birthplace of William Shakespeare, and to Warwick Castle.

The local organising committee was chaired by Michael Devereux, of the Oxford University Centre for Business Taxation. The scientific committee was composed of Richard Cornes (Chair), Massimo Bordignon, Wolfgang Buchholz, Sam Bucovetsky, Alan Duncan, Chris Ellis, Clemens Fuest, Jean Hindriks, Jun-ichi Itaya, Eckhard Janeba, Ravi Kanbur, Gareth Myles, Jim Murdoch, Todd Sandler, Kim Scharf, Al Slivinski, Stephen Smith and Peter Birch Sørensen.