IIPF logo
Site Map | Contact | Disclaimer
Purpose | History | Official Bodies | Statutes
Current Congress | Past Congresses | Related Publications
Doctoral School 2014 | Doctoral School 2015 | Doctoral School 2016 | Doctoral School 2017
Privileges | How to Join | Members | Search for a Member | Payment of Membership Dues | Payment Options
Peggy and Richard Musgrave Prize | IIPF Young Economists Award | Richard Musgrave Visiting Professorship | Public Policy Award | ITAX PhD Student Award
Board of Management | Executive Committee | General Assembly | Past Presidents | Honorary Presidents | Statutes

International Institute of Public Finance

2022 Annual Congress of the IIPF

Given the current global circumstances, the IIPF’s plans to have an in-person congress in China in the summer of 2022 have unfortunately become untenable. The Local Organizers at Tsinghua University, the Scientific Chairs and the IIPF President, Vice Presidents and Board of Management agreed to look for an alternative location and to pursue the plans to hold an in-person congress rather than a third online congress.

Dr. Friedrich Schneider and the Department of Economics offered to organize the upcoming congress at the University of Linz in Austria. This offer was gladly accepted by all IIPF governing bodies.

The congress will be held from August 10–12, 2022 (with Board of Management meeting on August 9).

The topic of the congress will stay the same as envisaged: “Public Finance in Emerging Economies”.

The Scientific Committee is chaired by Dr. Anne Brockmeyer (Institute for Fiscal Studies and University College London, UK; World Bank) and Prof. Juan Carlos Suárez Serrato (Duke University, USA).

Contributed papers on any topic within the field of Public Economics and related disciplines will be considered, as is traditional at IIPF congresses. Submissions will be accepted until February 18, 2022.

Further information on the congress is available at:


Panorama Stadt Linz

2021 Annual Congress of the IIPF | Online

The continued Covid-19 crisis has forced the IIPF to organize the 77th Annual Congress in a virtual format (instead of an in-person congress in Reykjavík, Iceland).

It was held on line from August 18 through 20, 2021, and included four keynote speeches, 300 paper presentations in 75 working group sessions, 12 networking sesions (for junior scholars, to interact with senior scholars in their field), three invited paper sessions and some virtual social events.

The theme of the keynote speeches was “Public Finance in the Era of the COVID-19 Crisis”; keynote speakers: Jérôme Adda (Bocconi University, Italy), Marianne Bitler (University of California, Davis, USA), John N. Friedman (Brown University, USA) and Andrea Weber (Central European University, Hungary).

The Scientific Committee was chaired by Prof. David R. Agrawal (University of Kentucky, USA) and Prof. Aline Bütikofer (Norwegian School of Economics, Norway).

The Local Organizing Committee was chaired by Prof. Þórólfur Geir Matthíasson and administrated by Pálmi Gautur Sverrisson (both University of Iceland), who already organized the 2020 Annual Congress (online) of the IIPF.

linkDetailed session program
linkCall for Papers
linkCongress Website
linkCongress Twitter
linkCongress Facebook page

About Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © 2007–2022 IIPF